Recently, India selected a total of 50 municipalities all across the country to develop into ‘solar cities’, with each of these cities aiming at a minimum of 10% reduction in conventional energy demand within the next five years. This lofty objective will be carried out through the installation of several renewable energy technologies such as wind, solar, hydro and biomass energy. Depending on the availability of resources in each city, energy efficiency measures will be undertaken.

According to the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), plans for 46 out of the 50 cities are already in place. The total cost for the project is close to INR236.9 million, out of which INR61.0 million have been sanctioned and released. For the preparation of the master plan, each city is eligible to receive up to INR5.0 million.


Source: The Hindu

According to a consulting manager at the solar consulting firm Bridge to India, on the release of MNRE funds, it will be up to the municipal corporations to carry out the plans. The solar cities policy will make an important part of the government’s target of achieving 40GW of rooftop solar power by 2022.

The 50 cities part of the solar cities plan are: Guwahati, Jorhat, Hubli-Dharwad, Mysore, Amritsar, Ludhiana, Mohali, Jodhpur, Bhubaneswar, Aizawl, Agra, Moradabad, Allahabad, Rajkot, Gandhinagar, Surat, Nagpur, Kalyan-Dombiwali, Thane, Aurangabad, Nanded, Gwalior, Rewa, Imphal, Kohima, Dimapur, Dehradun, Haridwar-Rishikesh, Chamoli-Gopeshwar, Chandigarh, Gurgaon, Faridabad,  Coimbatore, Vijayawada, Bilaspur, Raipur, Agartala, Panaji City & Environs, Itanagar, Hamirpur, Shimla Shirdi, Ajmer, New Town Kolkata, Howrah, Madhyamgram, New Delhi, Puducherry, Kochi and Bhopal.

“In-principle” approvals have already been granted to these five cities: Thiruvananthapuram, Jaipur, Indore, Leh and Mahbubnagar.

To set up affordable solar installations at your home, office or commercial building, get in touch with TMG Solar today.



Leave a Comment